Fashion victim or Fascism victim?

Listen! To the song I quote in this post: it will open in a separate window. I think this post got me fired in August 2010, although I posted it in March of last year. The person in question has her good parts and is not a political conservative but at a deeper level she’s very “American”, which is to say she can always justify it in the end. I suppose I share that same defect of character. I probably ruined a marriage with this habit of always trying to be right.

In an era of “skepticism” (which is often a fashionable self-applied label for ignorance) and irony, it’s believed that the truth cannot be known outside of mathematics and the hard sciences, and a checkpoint has been thrown up by the shock troops of skepto-ignorance, in front of biology, by Creationism.

This means that any attempt to get to truth outside of pure mathematics and physics will offend many people.

Therefore it’s easier to target people with the cruelest of remarks, the more inapplicable the better, since you only have to contend with one person, other people join in on the fun, and if Foucault is to be trusted, you’re doing society’s valuable work of keeping people in line.

Someone dresses neatly for work and even fashionably. Sure, go ahead and post “his fashion sense matches his personality” on the Internet.

Someone can read and even write above a lower bound of complexity which is getting lower according to English profs. Wow, he’s “verbose”, that sounds deep, doesn’t it.


Go ahead and hate your neighbor,
Go ahead and cheat a friend.
Do it in the name of Heaven,
You can justify it in the end.

And if we call you a micro-Fascist, this is because Fascism is the aestheticization of politics.

“Bernard, I want you to know… that I try. When Jean and the kids at the school tell me that I’m supposed to control my violent temper, and be passive and nonviolent like they are, I try. I really try. Though when I see this girl… of such a beautiful spirit… so degraded… and this boy… that I love… sprawled out by this big ape here… and this little girl, who is so special to us we call her “God’s little gift of sunshine”… and I think of the number of years that she’s going to have to carry in her memory… the savagery of this idiotic moment of yours… I just go BERSERK!”

– Billy Jack

Leave a Reply

