Studies for an Homage to Messaien (caution, artistic nude, not children or work safe)

After careful review of Hong Kong law I have removed this entry. Nude figures are regarded in East Asia as indecent and while Hong Kong law permits display of nude figures within “bona fide art galleries and museums”, they must not be visible outside the museum or gallery.

I have noticed that art stores sell a complete range of plaster casts for art training here but that none of them are the nudes commonly used by students in the West.

I support Chinese artists who use the nude to protest the harsh repression of Chinese life but as a non-Chinese person I have, I think, a special duty to abide by its law, whether on the mainland or here in Hong Kong.

I shall continue to share my researches in figure drawing using my own kinesthesia, anatomy, and sport and dance praxis on Facebook with a restricted Friend subgroup. If you’re interested in seeing this material become my Facebook friend and request to be added to “Can See Figurative Art”. On Facebook I am Edward Nilges in Hong Kong.

I have not so much respect for a law that is so selectively enforced in favor of the well to do as for the customs of the Chinese people which I feel I must respect.

Leave a Reply

