Ishaqi

A just-Wikileaked diplomatic cable indicates that in 2006, after a firefight, US troops entered a house in Iraq and handcuffed and shot its inhabitants including small children.

I’ve enhanced, not modified, the detail below clearly shows handcuffs on the girl. The little boy’s arms seem raised above him as if they were handcuffs and he was asking the soldiers not to shoot.

The US troops called in an airstrike apparently to eradicate evidence.

This wasn’t Vietnam since all around there was a semi-functional civil society and Iraqi police investigated. Film of Vietnam shows US forces, civilians, and, occasionally Viet Cong and later NVA. But many clips of Iraq show American forces kicking ass and Iraqi police at least trying to take names.

Now, this is a sick fucking situation you ask me. High Noon where the bad guys take over and we were the bad guys.

Here are the names of the people that were killed.

Turkiya Muhammed Ali, 75 years
Faiza Harat Khalaf, 30 years
Faiz Harat Khalaf, 28 years
Um Ahmad, 23 years
Sumaya Abdulrazak, 22 years
Aziz Khalil Jarmoot, 22 years
Hawra Harat Khalaf, 5 years
Asma Yousef Maruf, 5 years
Osama Yousef Maruf, 3 years
Aisha Harat Khalaf, 3 years
Husam Harat Khalaf, 6 months

Is that Aisha in the photo, mother of believers مّ المؤمني? Oh, is a pose for me to use my computer to pretend I know Arabic? Too damned bad. I had kids once. We talked, late at night, over their names. I wanted my younger son to be called William but my wife preferred Peter and I like it too. A child’s name Aisha is hope that she may on the Day of Judgement sit in the clouds at the apex of her many descendants, and on the Day of Judgement, God will ask why were you so young when you came to me.

The child will laugh for the angels will have given her a magic potion called forget pain and say silly God you know why. And God will smile.

Um basically means wife, right (feel free to post corrections). Um Khaldum a popular Middle Eastern singer. Is the connotation that of Goodwife in Shakespeare’s London, shortened in the Massachusetts Bay colony to Goody?

Former VP Cheney said in 2001 that the American lifestyle is not negotiable. Now, he meant his lifestyle and that of his pals, not mine: my lifestyle today is rice and tuna and being treated like a crook at HSBC. For which I give thanks since it might get me some brownie points with a black and brown god. But Ishaqi is what Cheney meant. Oh, they mean it, they really, really mean it. Give us convenience or give you death.

One Response to “Ishaqi”

  1. this article makes me tears down…I can imagine when you talked to kids to late night…and everything you mentioned here…

Leave a Reply

