Peter’s Crazy Aunt as of 13 January 2012: Chloris Eram

Listen!

Edward G. Nilges, “State of ‘Peter’s Crazy Aunt Dances on the Strand to the Music of Bach, and the Zy-Deco Sounds of Clifton Chenier, the KING of the Bayou’ as of 13 January 2012”, acrylic on canvas, 60 * 80 cm

Edward G. Nilges, “Final Grisaille State of ‘Peter’s Crazy Aunt Dances on the Strand to the Music of Bach, and the Zy-Deco Sounds of Clifton Chenier, the KING of the Bayou’ as of 13 January 2012”, acrylic grisaille on canvas, 60 * 80 cm

Nicholas Poussin, Empire [or Triumph] of Flora: 1631, Dresden, Gemäldegalerie

Chloris eram, quae Flora vocor. Corrupta Latino
Nominis est nostri littera Graeca sono.
Chloris eram Nymphe campi felicis, ubi audis
Rem fortunatis ante fuisse viris.
Quae fuerit mihi forma, grave est narrare modestae:
Sed generum matri repperit illa deum. 200
Ver erat: errabam: Zephyrus conspexit. Abibam:
Insequitur; fugio. Fortior ille fuit.
Et dederat fratri Boreas jus omne rapinae,
Ausus Erechthea praemia ferre domo.
Vim tamen emendat dando mihi nomina nuptae: 205
Inque meo non est ulla querela toro.
Vere fruor semper: semper nitidissimus annus.
Arbor habet frondes, pabula semper humus.
Est mihi fecundus dotalibus hortus in agris.
Aura fovet; liquidae fonte rigatur aquae.
Hunc meus implevit generoso flore maritus:
Atque ait, Arbitrium tu, dea, floris habe.
Saepe ego digestos volui numerare colores;
Nec potui; numero copia major erat.

I who now am called Flora was formerly Chloris: a Greek letter of my name is corrupted in the Latin speech.23 Chloris I was, a nymph of the happy fields where, as you have heard, dwelt fortunate men of old. Modesty shrinks from describing my figure; but it procured the hand of a god for my mother’s daughter. ‘Twas spring, and I was roaming; Zephyr caught sight of me: I retired; he pursued and I fled; but he was the stronger, and Boreas had given his brother full right of rape by daring to carry off the prize from the house of Erechtheus.24 However, he made amends for his violence by giving me the name of bride, and in my marriage-bed I have naught to complain of. I enjoy perpetual spring; most buxom is the year ever; ever the tree is clothed with leaves, the ground with pasture. In the fields that are my dower, I have a fruitful garden, fanned by the breeze and watered by a spring of running water. This garden my husband filled with noble flowers and said, ‘Goddess, be queen of flowers.’

Ovid: Fasti V

2 Responses to “Peter’s Crazy Aunt as of 13 January 2012: Chloris Eram”

  1. I love the way that you’ve shown each step and all the time and effort that has gone into this project of yours. Coming from someone who doesn’t know the first thing about art, I found it interesting to watch the metamorphosis.

  2. spinoza1111 Says:

    Thanks! I need to share the serenity and magic of the artistic journey on the island where I live. I’ve always been fascinated by the Old Master “indirect” techniques, ever since I saw Charlton Heston in THE AGONY AND THE ECSTASY go at it with his patron and Pope, Rex Harrison: “Michelangelo, when will you make an end!” “When I am finished!”

Leave a Reply

