Workout Log 15 August 2012: In Dieses Heilgen Hallen

30 mn walking with weights and 25 min water dancing and swimming. Beautiful morning. The swimming causes minor pain on the right side of my hip, addressed with cold and then heat.

Last night, I was watching Kenneth Branagh’s very strange but very good version of Mozart’s the Magic Flute. Branagh’s Sarastro, the “wicked” father and enemy of the Queen of the Night who’s actually good, is a World War I style leader as played by a relative unknown (Rene Pape): he’s an “idea” of the Good Lenin, the Good Trotsky or even the “good Stalin” such as we need and say we don’t.

I realized that Branagh’s Sarastro, in his Duke Senior in his Japanese As You Like It as played by Brian Blessed, there’s the out of fashion ideal of the father who makes it right as does Sarastro for Pamina after the Queen of the Night delivers her second coloratura aria. Brian Blessed as Duke Senior in As You Like It says to a starving Orlando:

DUKE SENIOR
What would you have? Your gentleness shall force
More than your force move us to gentleness.
ORLANDO
I almost die for food; and let me have it.
DUKE SENIOR
Sit down and feed, and welcome to our table.

My younger kid thinks my email minatory perhaps. I am just saying that it’s a father’s job first and foremost to provide for the material needs of his family, and to get out there and fight for them, not be some stay at home sort of alternate Mom. I am narrated as “running away” but in fact I needed a well-paying job and figured it’d be in California. Which it was: but remittance fathers worldwide, whether “members of the scientific staff” in Mountain View, or selling cell phones in the Chung King Mansions, are accounted failures because they don’t confirm the TeeVee image.

But earning a family wage becomes harder and harder for real fathers because the bullies of the CEO class think it’s cute or even progressive, fashionable, au fait, feminist, to destroy a family wage and to use pop culture to narrate hard working men as dorks: “mere programmers” or “mere truck drivers”.

Can you code C++, asshole? Can you handle 17 gears at 5:00 AM using your right leg in subzero weather because your left is dead from sciatica, dipshit?

How about you Mitt Romney?

Paul Ryan?

Damn right I’m angry

Yet the instinct persists to provide for a family. Guys in prison industries remit what little they get to their wives outside prison.

There’s nothing for anger like Shakespeare.

My kid shall name his daughters but I would name them Ophelia and Perdita:

Ophelia:

There’s fennel for you, and columbines: there’s rue
for you; and here’s some for me: we may call it
herb-grace o’ Sundays: O you must wear your rue with
a difference. There’s a daisy: I would give you
some violets, but they withered all when my father
died: they say he made a good end,–

Perdita:

Here’s flowers for you;
Hot lavender, mints, savoury, marjoram;
The marigold, that goes to bed wi’ the sun
And with him rises weeping: these are flowers
Of middle summer, and I think they are given
To men of middle age. You’re very welcome.

Leave a Reply

