Workout Log 27 Nov 2012

Five minutes weights, not first thing, ça suffit!

A SHOELESS ADVENTURE

A real problem since onset of the edema has been the fact that one is shoeless, like Wee Wullie, the Collier’s Dying Child. I have had in recent days to go out in cold weather with flip flops that create instability and falls because one foot so shod feels so different from the other.

Boom: apparent Redemption:

O, now, who will behold/The royal captain of this ruin’d band” (Shakespeare Henry V)

Thank God have found a pair of strappy Tabitha men’s sandals that can be adjusted, given their strappiness, to swollen feet. I bought them on the Nathan Road in 2005 and forgot them, they are leather so I say a prayer for the beast from which they were taken.

Unlike flip flops, no toe web pain nor feeling of instability that creates a fall. Instead the sides seem beveled for a safe and stable curve.

This means I can make it to Marks and Sparks for further orthopedics, into hospital easier, ’round town easier.

Was sitting on the pity pot wondering what to do when I decided to look inside my shoe chest and there they were.

If the way which I have pointed out as leading to this result seems exceedingly hard, it may nevertheless be discovered. Needs must it be hard, since it is so seldom found. How would it be possible, if salvation were ready to our hand, and could without great labour be found, that it should be by almost all men neglected? But all things excellent are as difficult as they are rare.

Baruch de Spinoza, Of the Power of the Understanding, or of Human Freedom, Prop XLII

2 Responses to “Workout Log 27 Nov 2012”

  1. certainly like your website but you need to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to tell the truth then again
    I’ll certainly come again again.

  2. spinoza1111 Says:

    Thank you! I love constructive criticism.

    Because as my sister has pointed out (with no hard feelings), I tend not to review my drafts enough before posting, desirous as I am to “get the word out”, I myself often encounter silly spelling errors (as well as points made confusingly).

    Therefore, I have for some time now reviewed my posts, even quite old ones, for correct spelling.

    I pride myself on spelling and style in the top 99th percentile, but I need to slow down, proof read, so that it shows. Thanks for affirming that this is a concern.

Leave a Reply

