5 April 2013: good congee

Good congee (not too watery): reading Hamlet: scene where Ghost first meets Hamlet saying “I am thy Father’s spirit”.

What About Them Bones on Epsom Heath?

Screen Shot 2013-04-05 at 8.48.07 AM

I, that am rudely stamp’d, and want love’s majesty
To strut before a wanton ambling nymph;
I, that am curtail’d of this fair proportion,
Cheated of feature by dissembling nature,
Deformed, unfinish’d, sent before my time
Into this breathing world, scarce half made up,
And that so lamely and unfashionable
That dogs bark at me as I halt by them;

Shakespeare, Richard III: Illustration: photograph of Leicester bones now known with effective (six sigma) certainty to be those of Richard Plantagenet/Crook Back/Gloucester/III, King of England.

You so tall and fair proport
May waste in hospital ere long
And Death’s harbinger, sickness, may with you sport
That one with Richard is thy song:
O let me die or be a villain
I am rack’d upon these twisted bones,
And it’s for nowt my tears be spillin’
And so many are my groans.
Twisted am I and in pain
But groaning man did never gain.

Edward G. Nilges, screw it

3 Responses to “5 April 2013: good congee”

  1. One can read Hamlet fifty times and still be moved, challenged, inspired, and provoked by it. That play still shakes me to the core–the play IS life itself. I assume you’ve also read it many times–how is your current reading making you feel?

    (Your poem was beautiful.)

    • spinoza1111 Says:

      Hamlet, then. I anticipate the end of the fourth act for now I feel that the key soliloquy is “Now all occasions inform against me” not “to be or not to be”. The question “what is man” is to me, today, much more worthy of Hamlet as a prince than Hamlet as a callow student contemplating taking his own life.

      When we took Dad to that wonderful old theater in the Fine Arts building in Chicago he not only braved the full four hours (the version being uncut) I also realized that Shakespeare anticipated Hegel. “What is man’s” answer includes Hegelian recognition in which people are never treated as objects as Hamlet is treated.

  2. spinoza1111 Says:

    Thanks!

    Mystified…it’s mystical. More later, a bit tired.

Leave a Reply

