3 Sep 2013

Rather late but first-thing 20 min workout at 6:45 AM: slept in. 200 lowrise steps supporting myself and pulling myself up for upper body development, still cannot use weights. Supine movements with weights.

Then, after breakfast, 20 minute physio on the old rackety row machine: 7 “centuries” (sets of 100) of leg exercise with and without weights.

First thing workout and two workouts in one day! Yay!

Health Note: Eyestrain versus PowerNap, Foot “Drop”

My eyes have already started to blur out even using readers at 250 magnification; starting in my 40s I have needed ever more powerful cheap reading glasses, not wanting to spend money on eye doctors. But I noticed that I do not blur out in the morning. I was concerned for Johansen’s History of Ancient Philosophy is in small type (with a lot of words on each page making it an even longer book than it seems); whereas on the Internet I can always use screen magnification I’d have to get a rectangular glass, possibly, to finish Johansen.

But then I discovered or rather re-discovered the great benefits of the midday power nap. You just lay yourself down and abandon hope for sleep, just try to relax for 20 minutes or more.

Today, my clear eyesight, for now, has been restored owing to my Power Nap.

Physio attention drawn by my physician to my left dropped foot with its non-operational muscles for drawing the foot up. I will get a splint and sans a traditional Chinese wife to move and massage the foot I shall have to do so for 30 minutes a day while watching TV.

Study

Reading of Johansen (History of Ancient Philosophy) moves apace, finished his magisterial chapter on the evolution of Greek ethical thought in tragedy (the triumvirate of Aeschylus, Sophocles and Euripides) and history (chiefly Xenophon and Herodotus).

Makes one want to access the originals (my new reading regime accentuates primary sources). Temptation exists in the form of the complete line of Loeb Classical Library titles at Eslite books, that wallet-hoovering superstore in Causeway Bay. But then I’d have to add “classical Greek” to my learning banquet-orgy, at least pronunciation and orthography to be able to listen to the sound of words.

The two texts (English and classical Greek) probably exist online.

I thought before this return to free learning courtesy of my illness and Social Security that I was smart, but now I realize how many things (such as classical Greek) that I do not know.

And, if Aristotle is right, and the end of “man” is knowledge and wisdom, we should “reason not the need” although it is the habit of Asian wives and helpers such as my own to ask, why one bothers, and, why this expense of books. Well, I could do worse than study at this the gradual (I hope) end of my life. I could drink, or blow my brains out, or retire to an opium den. Merely reading and studying profits me and others with my teaching. Cleans my soul for possible admission to Heaven.

Returned PF Strawson’s flawed reading of Kant’s Critique, Bounds of Sense: may as well finish the damned thing. His style is very difficult to understand at least on Kant. Paul Guyer (translator of Kant for the 1998 Cambridge edition) much easier to read and more accurate, since Guyer, unlike Strawson in 1960, is uninterested in his own metaphysical programme.

Leave a Reply

